Personal Websites for Academics

Kick-off Workshop for University of Tennessee's INFORMS Chapter

March 31, 2022

Date

March 31, 2022

Time

1:00 PM

Location

Haslam College of Business, University of Tennessee

Event

Websites used to be developed by groups of people to meet the needs of other groups of people. Today, as the internet grows more personalised than an encyclopedia of information, I argue we need more personal websites. Social media platforms are limited and occupational in treating your content. Your message might be curtailed by what LinkedIn allows or 280 characters on Twitter.

Academics, especially grad students, need it even more as few CV pages do not include most details. When looking for work, it clarifies uncertainties about the candidate.

Contrary to many think, maintaining a personal website is neither difficult nor expensive. Unfortunately, creating a website is approached as a “technology problem” to be solved. Projects are coloured from the beginning by enthusiasms for or fear for HTML, CSS and other fancy jargon — when it doesn’t have to be so.

In this talk, I will discuss why academics should have a personal website. I will also guide through designing a website and hosting it with a live hands-on example using Owlstown.

Poster

Example Sites

Here are some example sites.

Professors

Name Affiliation Website
Dennis C. Rasmussen Syracuse University https://www.dennis-rasmussen.com/
Jonathan Ochshorn Cornell University https://jonochshorn.com/index.html
Cynthia Rudin Duke University https://users.cs.duke.edu/~cynthia/
Laura Albert University of Wisconsin, Madison https://punkrockor.com/
Sean Willems University of Tennessee, Knoxville https://seanwillems.com/

: Examples of personal websites (professors)

Industry

Name Affiliation Website
Hadley Wickham RStudio https://hadley.nz/
Rami Krispin Apple https://ramikrispin.github.io/
Debarghya Das Glean http://debarghyadas.com/
Alison Hill IBM https://www.apreshill.com/
Brett Wendling Federal Trade Commission https://brettwendling.owlstown.net/

: Examples of personal websites (industry)

Grad Students and Researchers

Name Affiliation Website
Sander van Bree University of Glasgow https://www.sandervanbree.com/
Neha Gupta Duke University https://nehargupta.github.io/
Jared Colston University of Wisconsin-Madison https://www.jaredcolston.com/
Sajjad Amrollahi Biyouki University of Tennessee, Knoxville https://sajjadbiyouki.github.io/
Slim Lim University of California, Berkeley https://slim.computer/

: Examples of personal websites (students and researchers)

See Owlstown’s directory for more examples. See this Twitter thread 🧵for even more examples.

Posted on:
March 31, 2022
Length:
2 minute read, 314 words
Categories:
blog workshop
See Also: